CCW Information

concealed-weapons-permit

The Shasta County Sheriff’s Office is dedicated to the safety of County residents.

Under the penal code, the Sheriff of the County has authority to issue a state of California permit to carry a weapon concealed. Over the past few years some law enforcement agencies have virtually ceased issuing Concealed Weapon Permits. The Sheriff of Shasta County does not intend to do that. For the safety of our residents and in compliance with State law, CCW applicants are required to obtain a certificate of completion from one of the listed firearms safety courses prior to proceeding further with the application process.

** Per Government Section code 6250-6276.48 certain information is subject to PRA. Please review page 3 of the California Department of Justice Standard Initial and Renewal Application carefully. **

Requirements to Qualify

You must:

  • Be of good moral character.
  • A full-time resident of Shasta County.
  • Have valid identification.
  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Own and have a gun registered in California.
  • Not have any open criminal cases or pending citations.
  • Not have any felony convictions or specified misdemeanors. (Penal Code Sections 29900-29905)
  • Not have a history of mental illness, or be currently under treatment/counseling for mental or emotional problems.
  • Not be on active probation.
  • Not be a defendant/respondent named within and subject to a current temporary restraining order/protection order/order after hearing. (Family Code section 621; Code of Civil Procedure 527.6 and 527.8)
  • Existing CCW holders from another County or State must apply as 'NEW' applicants

New Application Process

  • The completed application: Click here for the Application form for NEW CCW's 
  • A valid identification card that contains your photograph.
  • A utility bill/statement or other documents showing permanent residency within Shasta County (no PO boxes).
  • The certificate documenting your completion of the State of California required firearms safety course from an approved CCW Instructor (12 hour course for the first time applicants).
  • Firearm qualification form (you must qualify with each gun to be listed on your CCW). A PC 832 certificate is acceptable (No more than 2 years old).
  • Military Veterans bring your DD214 form (Discharge document).
  • The firearm(s) you want listed on your permit, up to five (5)
     ** Firearm(s) must be UNLOADED, magazines removed (no ammunition can be attached to the firearm) and in a locked box or gun case **
  • The cost for a CCW permit is $153 plus a $25 fingerprint rolling fee for a total cost of $178. ($130 due at application, $48 due at permit issuance)
  • Certificates are only valid for 60 days from date issued.

Renewal Application Process

  • The completed renewal form: Click here for CCW Renewal Application (If you have trouble filling out certain fields, you can download it first and then fill out the form for printing)
  • A valid identification card that contains your photograph.
  • The certificate documenting your completion of the State of California required firearms safety course from an approved CCW Instructor (4 hour Refresher course for renewal applicants)
  • Firearm qualification form (you must qualify with each gun to be listed on your CCW). A PC 832 certificate is acceptable (No more than 2 years old).
  • Total cost for CCW renewal is $71.95 (Late renewals cost $77)
  • ALL existing CCW holders from another County MUST submit a NEW Application

CCW Changes & Updates

The following changes require that you update your Concealed Carry Weapons permit:

  • Change of address
    • Completed CCW Update Form with updated information (If you have trouble filling out certain fields, you can download it first and then fill out the form for printing)
    • Do not need to bring a utility bill
  • Adding a gun to CCW
    • Must bring to Sheriff’s office
    • Completed CCW Update Form with updated information
    • Completed Firearm Qualification Form for gun to add
    • The firearm(s) you want listed on your permit ** Firearm(s) must be UNLOADED, magazines removed (No ammunition can be attached to the firearm) and in a locked box or gun case **
  • Name Change
    • Completed CCW Update Form with updated information
    • Legal Document stating completed legal name change (marriage certificate, court documents, etc.)
    • Updated valid identification card that contains your photograph.
  • Total cost per update is $10 (can update multiple items in one transaction)
  • Updates are processed the same day
  • Updates can be made in Burney upon request – call 245-6000 to make arrangements

Reference Information

 

If you have any questions regarding the CCW Permit application process, please contact the Shasta County Sheriff's Office at (530) 245-6000.