Recording Info & Requirements

The County Recorder, upon payment of proper fees and taxes, will accept any document which is authorized or required by California law to be recorded, if the document contains the required information, and if it is photographically reproducible.

Each document presented for recording must include or comply with the following general requirements.

  • The property must be located in Shasta County.
  • The document must be authorized or required by law to be recorded.
  • The document must be submitted with the proper fees and taxes.
  • The document must be in compliance with state and local laws.
  • The document should Name the person requesting recording.
  • The document should state the Name and address to whom the document should be returned. (Fill in "Recording Requested By and Mail to")
  • The document must be legible enough to produce a readable photographic record.
  • Signatures must be original, unless the document is a certified copy issued by the appropriate custodian of the public record.
  • The document must be properly acknowledged, unless exempt. California requires an all-purpose acknowledgement.
  • The Assessor's Parcel Number is required on deeds by local Ordinance.
  • The notary seal must be legible for microfilm reproduction.
  • All documents submitted for recording shall have at least 1/2 inch margin on the two vertical sides except in the space reserved for recording information.
  • All documents must comply with the standard 8.5"x11" sheet and paper size to avoid penalty, and must not exceed 8.5"x14". Any document including any sheet not exactly 8.5"x11" will cost the regular recording fee PLUS an ADDITIONAL $3.00 PER PAGE.
  • The first page of a document to be recorded should have a return address space on the top left that is 2.5" down and 3.5" across. On the top right, allow a blank space 2.5" down and 5" across for the recorder's use.
  • Recordable documents should be on white paper (16 lb. bond or heavier), black ink in one color with clear print. Be careful of dot matrix printers, fax copies, dark backgrounds, variations in colored paper/ink, print/letters that run together, illegible Notary Seals, etc. Documents are reviewed by trained examiners who rely on Federal and State Government Codes.
  • Documentary Transfer Tax is due on all taxable conveyances in excess of $100 at a rate of $.55 per $500 or fractional portion of the real property value, excluding any liens or encumbrances already of record as required. It is collected at the time of recording on each deed, or instrument. A Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration must be completed and signed for all deeds. If no D.T.T. is due, so indicate by entering "$0" on the tax line and sign the declaration. Please explain the reason why no tax is due on the document.
  • When transferring property to anyone other than a spouse, a "Preliminary Change of Ownership Report" is required. If a P.C.O.R. is required but not submitted at the time of recording, a $20 fee is levied.

You may download the Preliminary Change of Ownership Report.

The Office of the Recorder is prohibited from giving any legal advice or to assist in document preparation. We do not provide any legal forms or notarial services. Various types of forms may be purchased at office supply or stationary stores. Once you have the appropriate form, you may prepare it yourself, consult legal counsel, or contact a local title company or escrow company.