Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC)
JJCC 2021

In 1996, the Board of Supervisors established the Shasta County Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council ("Council"). The Council was established at that time so that the County would be eligible to apply for grant funding under the Juvenile Crime Enforcement and Accountability Challenge Grant Program, codified at Welfare & Institutions Code Sections 749.2 et seq.

Under WI 749.22, this Council is responsible for developing a comprehensive, multi-agency juvenile justice plan aimed at decreasing crime and delinquency among at-risk youth.  In 2000, the State of California established the Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act Program ("JJCPA Program"). The JJCPA Program was created by the Crime Prevention Act of 2000 to provide a more stable state funding source for implementing a Juvenile Justice Plan (“Plan”) developed by the Council. The Council is required to review annually the Plan and make modifications as necessary.  

For questions, please contact Twyla Carpenter, tcarpenter@co.shasta.ca.us, or the Chief Probation Officer, Tracie Neal, tneal@co.shasta.ca.us

Juvenile Justice Plan

Juvenile Justice Plan 


JJCC Bylaws (Adopted 2/2/2021)

Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council

Tracie Neal, Chief Probation Officer
Stephanie Bridgett, Shasta County District Attorney's Office
Bill Bateman, Shasta County Public Defender's Office
Michael Johnson, Shasta County Sheriff's Office
Mary Rickert, Shasta County Board of Supervisors
Donnell Ewert, Shasta County Health and Human Services Agency
Miguel Rodriguez, Shasta County Health and Human Services Agency, Children's Services Branch
Susan Wilson, Youth Options Shasta, a community based drug and alcohol program
Bill Schueller, Redding Police Department
Steve Blunk, Anderson Police Department
Judy Flores, Shasta County Office of Education
Steve MacFarland, Shasta County Juvenile Justice Commission and an at-large community representative
Michael Burke, Pathways to Hope for Children, a nonprofit community-based organization providing services to minors
Daryl Kennedy, Juvenile Court Judge

Division of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) Realignment Plan

SB823 Subcommittee

Tracie Neal, Chief Probation Officer
Ben Hannah, District Attorney's Office
Kathryn Barton, Public Defender's Office
Cindy Lane, HHSA Social Services
Laura Stapp, HHSA Mental Health
Mary Lord, Shasta County Office of Education
Lisa Jenkins, Shasta County Superior Court
Michael Burke, Pathways to Hope
Cindy Vogt, California Heritage Youth Build Academy
Valerie Hartley, Shasta ILP