Shasta County Weed Management Area

Shasta County Weed Management AreaA ‘weed management area’ is a local organization that brings together all interested landowners, land managers, special districts, and the public in a county or other geographical area for the purpose of coordinating and combining their actions and expertise to deal with their common weed control problems.

The Shasta County Weed Management Area functions under the authority of a mutually developed memorandum of understanding and is subject to statutory and regulatory requirements.

MOU Adopted May 23, 2000 includes twenty-three signatories:

  • Bureau of Land Management, Alturas Field Office
  • Bureau of Land Management, Redding Field Office
  • California Department of Fish and Game
  • California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection
  • California Department of Parks and Recreation
  • California Department of Transportation, District 2
  • California Department of Food & Agriculture
  • California Native Plant Society
  • City of Redding
  • Fruit Growers Supply Company
  • U.S. Forest Service, Lassen National Forest
  • U.S. Forest Service, Shasta-Trinity National Forest
  • Roseburg Resources
  • Shasta College/Natural Resources Department
  • Shasta County
  • Shasta County Cattlemen’s Association
  • Shasta County Farm Bureau
  • Sierra Pacific Industries
  • United States Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation District
  • University of California Cooperative Extension
  • W.M Beaty and Associates, Inc.
  • Western Shasta Resource Conservation District
  • Whiskeytown National Recreation Area