Contact Information

1855 Placer Street
Redding, CA 96001
Phone: (530) 225-5789
within Shasta County:
   (800) 528-2850
Fax: (530) 225-5807

Office Hours
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday through Friday

Resource Management

Richard W. Simon, AICP, Director
Dale J. Fletcher, CBO, Assistant Director

Department of Resource Management Main Lobby

The Department of Resource Management was created in 1992 as a result of the merger of four separate and previously independent departments or divisions. This move was prompted by the Board of Supervisors as both a cost saving measure as well as an effort to add greater efficiencies to the operations of these four units. The net result of the reorganization has been (1) a reduction in the number of permits required for a variety of development projects, (2) an elimination or reduction in the amount of fees associated with the processing of these applications, and (3) significant reductions in the time required to process applications.

The Department of Resource Management is currently under 2016 California Model Codes.

Application filing fee (all or a portion of the fee will be non-refundable)
Completed Building Permit Application
Completed Owner Builder Form
2 Complete Sets of Plans
2 Additional (Separate) Floor Plan
7 Plot Plans- 2 must be stamped by Fire District if Not CALFIRE Area

2 Sets of Title 24 Energy Calculations
2 Sets of Truss Calculations
2 Sets of Engineering (if required)
2 Copies of Grading/Erosion Control Plan
Legal Creation Documents for undeveloped parcels

** No processing or review will occur until the application is complete, which includes the Required Submittal Items and Deferred Submittal Items listed. Any deferred submittal items must be submitted within 6 months of the application date.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Declaration SBA #15092- Severe Storms and Flooding Information.

On March 20, 2017, the U.S. Small Business Administration declared the primary counties of Colusa, Lake, Lassen, Plumas, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz and contiguous counties of Alameda, Butte, Glenn, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Monterey, Napa, San Benito, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Shasta, Sierra, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, and Yuba a disaster area.  This declaration is a result of damages caused by the Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred February 1-25, 2017.


In an effort to process a high-volume and backlog of existing applications, the Department of Resource Management will be unable to process or accept new permit application submittals on Wednesdays, until further notice.  During this time, our lobby will remain open on Wednesdays for dispensing general information and issuing of permits only.  We apologize for any inconvenience during this time.

 Services Provided

Important Links

Environmental Impact Reports

Search Shasta County

Service Referral Guide

Food Facility Inspections

Inmate Custody Search